ASLA needs to market us!

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 26 total)
  • Author
    Claudia Chalfa
    Participant

I think the ASLA should approach a marketing company and hire them to devise a marketing strategy for our profession. Individual firms and LA’s could also contribute towards the expense of this: I personally would be willing to send in a little bit of money towards such a venture, and I am just a student about to graduate, with no job as of yet. A tv commercial, among other things, could help educate the public about what we do and why we are such a vital component of the economy and the country’s future.

Does anyone else agree?

Jay Smith
    Participant

I agree with you that the public needs to be educated. My only concern is that with a new awareness and understanding would come a new and large generation of Landscape Architect graduates competing for jobs in what is already a small market. If this type of marketing could result in a larger and more abundant role for L.A.’s, resulting in the creation of more jobs to be filled, then I’m all for it.

Claudia Chalfa
    Participant

I was thinking of a campaign for educating the public about what we do – hopefully it would increase demand for us in areas other than residential design, which is unfortunately what most people think is all that we do. If such a campaign worked, we might need more graduates…I still think this profession is one that will continue to grow, after this recession ends.

nca
    Participant