PC Laptop Recommendations for Landscape Architecture

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums TECHNOLOGY PC Laptop Recommendations for Landscape Architecture

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Lucy Wang
    Participant

The battery on my fossil of a laptop stopped working so I figure it’s time to get a new laptop. I know that laptops are in no way a replacement for desktops but I really value its offered mobility. I’m still a student so I’ll also have access to desktops in computer labs.

That being said, I don’t know anything about buying computers (hence, my laptop fossil). I only have a hunch of what I should be looking for…(a good graphics card? big screen??) and was hoping to get recommendations on what you currently use or computer jargon (ram type, memory bits, etc.) and numbers I should look for when I buy a laptop.

My price range is anywhere from $600 to $1000. I am not interested in getting a Mac and have been discouraged from buying a Dell. I’ll be running Photoshop, Illustrator, Sketchup pro and possibly CAD if I can get my hands on it. I don’t game so I don’t need a laptop that’s overkill. Also, I don’t really care for pretty and sleek, as I’m more concerned with price and performance.

Thanks!

Cliff See
    Participant

hi, what is wrong with Dell..? my dell laptop is 5 years old, it has treated me very kind… i use acad, pshop and sketchup on this…
    However it is time for a new one, i will go for another Dell. Just make sure you get lots of RAM…. its quiet too, so good luck on your choice! -Cliff

Roland Beinert
    Participant

Students here at the University of Idaho are required to have a laptop and the department has a set of requirements, which might be helpful: http://www.caa.uidaho.edu/computerpolicy/htm/hardware.htm .