1st year BLA student second guessing choice in Landscape Arch

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums GENERAL DISCUSSION 1st year BLA student second guessing choice in Landscape Arch

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 23 total)
  • Author
    Dan Janson
    Participant

I am a first year student of landscape architecture in a 5 year BLA program. Over the past couple of months I have been reading about how competitive/replaceable/unimportant our profession is. However i enjoy landscape architecture and would hope to one day get a job in a government transportation department. My question is, is it worthwhile to get a 5 year BLA or would it be more beneficial to get a 4 year degree like engineering?. How marketable is a BLA degree?

Thanks guys, I really appreciate it. 

nca
    Participant

I’d say, if you’re seriously considering engineering as a suitable alternative, go for it. LA is a very difficult career to make a solid living and requires serious dedication and passion for the craft. I dont mean to sound judgemental, but if you’re on the fence I say go for the engineering degree.

Tosh K
    Participant

I suppose it would depend on finances (can you afford the 5th year/are you more likely to get financial aid in one or the other) and what type of work in transportation you want to do.  Also, the curriculum for engineering is very different from LA (any accredited program will require coursework in all areas of engineering as their gen-ed requirement – electrical circuits, computer programming, thermodynamics, fluid mechanics, etc on top of what I would assume would be the civil/transportation track you would be pursuing).

It’s easier to go back to LA with a BS in engineering than the other way around, if that helps.

toby
    Participant

I agree with nca777.  Take a few classes or minor in LA if the itch persists.