2011 ASLA Conference

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Kelly
    Participant

Just curious if anyone knows a way for me to go to this year’s conference for reduced cost?  

Here is my situation:  

I graduated with a BLA in 2007 and like many of my classmates was unable to find a job as landscape architect because of the economy.  I ended up taking other jobs which eventually brought me to my current position as an AmeriCorps member for a nonprofit environmental group in Northern California.  My work is related to landscape architecture in ways but I’m not working under a RLA.  I receive a very limited stipend but would like to keep my hand in the ASLA world.  With my stipend I would not be able to attend the conference under the “professional” registration amount ($400+) but am willing to volunteer or apply for scholarships.  I’ve been in contact with someone at ASLA who explained I have to be a student to volunteer and I no longer qualify for the “emerging professional” discount.  And they don’t have any scholarships to apply for registration costs.

I’ve basically come to a road block – I would really like to attend the conference but am not a professional LA, no longer an emerging professional nor a student.  Can anyone think of any other options for me to look into?  Creativity is welcome.  I can’t imagine I’m the only one out there that never got a job as a landscape architect and I’m a little frustrated ASLA doesn’t provide a discounted registration for others in similar situations as mine.  Looking forward to some insight….

Kelly 

Eric Gilbey
    Participant