Advice requested in regards to my resume beeing sent overseas

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums PORTFOLIO & RESUME Advice requested in regards to my resume beeing sent overseas

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Karolina Bober
    Participant

Hello,

Even though I would like to consider myself as an already experienced professional, I have problems with one thing, in which, I hope you guys can give me some feedback. I have been running my business for 7 years now with my partner and we were facing many difficult situation but in this one I’m a complete beginner. 

Here is the thing : I’m going to search for a job overseas for the first time in my life and preparing a good resume appeared to be a big pain. I wonder if you give me some advice here? I don’t want to overloaded my resume with information, but not sure which one will be the most important. My experience is mainly the projects I’ve done because my employment history is rather short. The education might be misleading too, outside LA (I have master degree), I have been studying interior design and space management and many, many other courses, but mainly because of my interests. I have a feeling that is just too much of that. 

We are getting resumes all the time but most of them are from Poland, so it is not a big help when it comes to searching for a different perspective and honestly, when we decide to hire someone we are checking mainly portfolio and when the person is lacking experience – mainly taste in design. The computer programs are considered too.

If anyone would like to spend a minute and drop me some advice that would be appreciated.

Thanks

Karo

Boilerplater
    Participant

Overseas as in the US or other countries?

Karolina Bober
    Participant

Australia.

Boilerplater
    Participant