Anyone know what the job market is like for an MLA grad?

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums EDUCATION Anyone know what the job market is like for an MLA grad?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 148 total)
  • Author
    Kim Romano
    Participant

I’m a mid-career professional thinking of going back to school and getting an MLA.  It’d be a major lateral transition in my career but I am so attracted to this field and it’s a much better fit for me than public administration (my current job)

I’ve been accepted to University of Georgia and University of Texas at Austin.  But lately my enthusiasm has been tempered  by the posts that I’ve read on some forums here about scare LArch jobs.  It sounds pretty dire. Anyone think the job market will see an uptick in a few years?  I’m hoping to work in a major city for a studio that specializes in large, sustainable public projects.  Thanks!xo

-Kim

earthworker
    Participant

I have been waiting for the industry to ‘uptick’ for three years.  I wouldn’t bet on it getting better in the next two.  Don’t waste your time and money on this career path.  The utter collapse of this industry has nearly cost me everything.  Don’t let this happen to you. 

Kim Romano
    Participant

Oh Earthworker I am so sorry to hear that.  You sound like me with my M.P.A degree….

landplanner
    Participant

I would second, even third Earthworkers comments. All the design professions have been hammered from the Great Recession or Reset or Great Desperation, take your pick. There has been a complete seismic shift in our national and global economy. We are in for an ongoing de-leveraging, and downscaling.

Measurable and improved conditions to anything related to new construction/redevelopment-infill/rehabilitation, will be in the forms of aberrations, hiccups and fits and starts in the immediate years to come.