At a crossroads…

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author

Hey Everyone,

I graduated with a BLA and have been jumping around the country looking for work and tweaking my portfolio and resume. When I first graduated, I knew I did not want to continue on to graduate school. Now, I find that I am thinking of returning to school.

For any professional Landscape Architect:

Looking back on your experiences and the current state of the profession, if you were to return to school to enhance your knowledge and degree, what would your focus be?

Currently, I am interested in resort design, but for a graduate focus I am interested in a Masters in Urban design (Architectural and Urban Design). A degree in Illumination design is of an interest as well, but would follow IF I choose that route.

I have other questions that I am interested in hearing opinions about, but I think this is a good starting point.

Thanks everyone!

Jeff
    Participant

Don’t be fooled into thinking that an grad degree will be any more helpful in finding a job as an LA if you already have a BLA. For an entry level position, it really deosn’t matter what your focus or interests are in – just that you know CAD and sketchup, etc.  I look at grad school in this field as an end and not a means – that is, it’s a good way to postpone the “real world” but at some point you’ve got to be able to pay the rent.  Perhaps the economy will have improved in a couple years (but I seriously think this is the new normal- at least in the design fields).  If you are contemplating grad school, I would think hard about a more sustainable career path (I wish someone had told me this!).  That is something non-design that could complement your design background but make you more marketable. It may be more wise to pursue a planning degree – I think there are no where near as many starving planners as LAs.

toby
    Participant