Can you give me a realistic picture of being a landscape architect?

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums GENERAL DISCUSSION Can you give me a realistic picture of being a landscape architect?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 43 total)
  • Author
    Lauren Davis
    Participant

Hi,

I’m currently majoring in communications and considering a change over to landscape architecture (or getting a graduate degree in landscape architecture). I found out about the profession through the many pretty pictures I started to collect on my Tumblr. It looks and sounds so great!

I LOVE parks like the High Line and Paley Park and I would love to design projects like those. From some of the things I’ve looked up, it looks like if I major in landscape architecture I’ll get to design sustainably-minded, beautiful urban spaces. And there are so many reports on how parks alleviate depression and certain well-design green spaces can combat climate change that the profession sounds really soul fulfilling.

Some people I’ve talked to said that if it’s anything like architecture though I probably have an unrealistic view of the field.

So what is it like working in landscape architecture? Do you get to design the pretty, environmentally friendly city parks that I collect on tumblr? I joined hoping that your experiences can help convince to either go for it (or not)!

Thank you!

Leslie B Wagle
    Participant

I had a book of inspirational gardens I kept by my side my first year of college at a school of liberal arts that I had to stay in while arranging for a transfer (because I became aware of the field my senior year in high school, too late to go where I should have in the first place). I also dreamed of designing public gardens.