Can’t find a job in L.A., other careers?

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums GENERAL DISCUSSION Can’t find a job in L.A., other careers?

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Jay Smith
    Participant

I left my job as a Landscape architect (in the U.S.) early last year and I’m having NO luck finding a new position. New developement has been at a stand still and companies simply are not hiring new Landscape Architects and Architects right now. It’s very fustrating because I have a bachelors from a good university and eight years of experience in the field. I even owe money still on my student loans.

After a year of hard searching, lots of cold calls/cold letters/responding to countless ads, I’m forced to look at other professions. Yet I just don’t know what to do. Finding a position that pays enough to cover rent, car payment, and provides health insurance feels like an impossible task. I have no experience in any other field.

Has anyone here had luck finding a job in another profession? I’m really not even sure where to start.
    I have a book called “What color is your parachute” that help identify transferable skills, I’m hoping this will give me some clues.

From the posts I’ve read on here, it sounds like other job seekers are finding the same situation. It’s really a sad situation when you apply to hundreds of firms, and get no interest in return. I know some people on here have talked about picking up odd jobs here and there, but I just don’t think that willl work for me, as I need a secure fixed income and health insurance I can count on from month to month.

I haven’t given up totally on this profession, but I’m realizing after a year of searching that the writing is on the wall, I’m going to have to leave the profession for a year or two until the market comes back.

Ray Senes
    Participant

Jay

A couple of things may help you out. I am searching as well and these things were told to me: