Computing Advice Needed!

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Justin R. Bell
    Participant

I am a Grad Student entering my final year here at the University of Idaho.  i have the opportunity to purchase a new laptop or desktop computer but cannot decide which would be best for future endeavors in practice.  I am aware that there may be a “workstation” with a future employer but is that the primary location for doing ones work load? Or is the work load split via home or in the field or both?  A little insight into what i may or may not expect would be helpful in making this decision.  then its on to the next decision of MAC or PC.  Oh well, first things first.  Thanks.

Robert Anderson
    Participant

Justin,

One thing that many people don’t discuss much is that in the “post pc world” Mac and Windows are working better together than they ever had. Additionally it has been my personal experience that even though you pay more for a Mac initially there are cost savings in software and the durability and reliability of Macs.

You will find that there are numerous design and creative software programs that are significantly less expensive then, lets say adobe, yet work just as well. I am a bit of a Mac devotee but I also have used Windows machines for much of my career and find that Mac’s are superior when it comes to graphics.

Just my two cents worth. Enjoy your last year in school!

Andrew Garulay, RLA
    Participant

Not too many employers that I know would have you work on your own computer. …. unless you know that you’ll be doing some freelance subcontracting. Get the one that you want for your own use and let your employer worry about what you will do work on.

U Idaho ’97

Justin R. Bell
    Participant

Thank you for your input.

Justin R. Bell
    Participant

Thanks Andrew.

Tanya Olson
    Participant