Cornell vs UMass MLA programs

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums EDUCATION Cornell vs UMass MLA programs

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Sean Fitzsimmons
    Participant

Hello out there,

Does anyone have any thoughts/opinions about the Cornell and/or UMass MLA programs?  I’m trying to decide and am pretty torn though I’m leaning towards UMass.  It seems to me that the extra cost of Cornell isn’t worth it.  But I’m wondering if there is something I am missing that might make me feel more definitively about one or the other.

Thanks!

Sean

Tara McIntire
    Participant

Hi Sean, 

I am a Cornell MLA graduate and though there have been changes in staff since 2003, some of the new folks were fellow classmates and they all thoughtful and grounded.  One of things I loved about the program was how it really blended design skills with real world skills that would be needed to get a job. Most people I interviewed with  complemented Cornell grads with their entry-level skills and ability to start work without too much training.  I don’t know the cost difference between UMASS and Cornell, but I thought Cornell was VERY reasonable as compared to other programs such as Harvard, Penn or even Michigan.  I loved Cornell and had a great experience there. I’d contact firms and get their impressions of what recent graduates have been like from each school and the skills they are teaching.   My two cents. Good luck! Both good schools!  

Tom Klein
    Participant

I am curious how people feel about UMass Amherst as well. I live in Massachusetts and am an admitted student for the fall semester, and am having a hard time finding alumni or other resources to help me consider my options. 

Any UMass alumni on here who can provide their perspectives about the program?

Sean Fitzsimmons
    Participant

Hi Tara,