Cost benefit analysis of attending the ASLA 2011 Meeting for first-year MLA students

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums GENERAL DISCUSSION Cost benefit analysis of attending the ASLA 2011 Meeting for first-year MLA students

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    D
    Participant

Hello everyone,

I am trying to decide whether to register for the upcoming ASLA Meeting in San Diego before the early  Aug. 5th deadline. I am a total newbie to the profession, just starting a 3-year MLA program now; I was looking forward to it as a tool for building a deeper idea of the profession beyond what I may be learning in the academic context. I am trying to assess what tangibles (or intangibles) I can contribute or glean, as a first year student.

I have the impression that this conference is mostly focused as a forum for professional development and exposure to what is happening in the field, from policy to design, to community. Also of course the conference would be a great networking opportunity for professionals and 2nd or 3rd year students. And useful for bonding among other students, and getting exposure to the people in the profession. But is it worth the investment as a broke first-year student (a recent tuition hike just shook my 3-year MLA budget)

I haven’t had a chance to discuss with classmates, and I likely won’t until after the deadline. Any input would be great. Thanks

————————–

earthworker
    Participant