Cristo’s Over the River: Over the Rainbow, Overdone or Overblown?

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums GENERAL DISCUSSION Cristo’s Over the River: Over the Rainbow, Overdone or Overblown?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    earthworker
    Participant

Cristo is attempting to get his Over the River project approved in my home state of Colorado.  As a landscape architect, I am conflicted about this project.  Part of me sees the economic and publicity benefits this project could create.  Part of me thinks this is an art for art’s sake project on a grandiose scale.  Another part of me thinks the unknown temporary and potential permanent damages to the environment outweigh the benefits.  Is this a form of landscape architecture or is the product of an artist’s ego?

http://www.overtheriverinfo.com/

beijingreenspace
    Participant

Maybe it’s me but…

… I don’t get it.  Maybe it’s me.  Somehow I doubt it.

Do sponsors get to put advertising on the panels for rafters to enjoy?  /Big Bill’s Bait ‘n Tackle/ right up next to /Boater Life Insurance/ (actually that one would be too late) etc etc

Jason T. Radice
    Participant

He should just retire already. I guess he’s out of ideas, so lets just drape crap over whatever and call it ‘art’. What a collosal waste of materials.

nca
    Participant

I listened to Christo and jean claude speak in denver a few years ago before jean claudes death. They were completely open to the fact that their work is precisely ‘art for arts sake’ making no qualms about it.

I’m supportive of the piece not only for the potential economic benefits, however marginal, but because I think the eco-awareness undertones vastly outweigh the temporary impacts.

The fact is, also, there’s really very little thats ‘natural’ or pristine about that stretch of river anyway.

edit: