Distance Learning and Landscape Design

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums EDUCATION Distance Learning and Landscape Design

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Hello, one and all! I am new to the landscape design field, and am quickly discovering that my diploma in landscape design has not given me near enough tools for designing landscapes nor running a successful business. Being from the Toledo, Ohio area, my resources are far from plentiful. Any suggestions on distance learning programs in the landscape or landscape design field? Thank you all for your input!

nca
    Participant

Perhaps you could narrow your search by asking yourself what it is specifically you feel is missing. There are lots of good books out there on business, investing, design, management, and construction. Perhaps a degree in Landscape design/arch is not necessarily what you need.

Thanks, Nick. The diploma I have just gave me a brief bit of info on all those topics, and it’s just not enough for me to get started in the business. I do have a few good books (Dirr’s Woody Plants, Booth’s Residential Landscape Arch.) which help. I was just looking for classes or a program that one could do from home to help advance my knowledge, primarily in the areas of design, sustainability, and green industry business. But thank you for your input.

Jordan Lockman
    Participant

If you can afford it, I would recommend working as close to the field as possible. I worked on a landscape crew for my first year out of school and it helped immensely. I did get frustrated having a Landscape Architecture Degree and holding a shovel, but in the end I connected a lot of dots between what I was taught and what really happens in the field. A little humility training never hurts either.