Economic Impacts on Industry??

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Maggie Hallidy
    Participant

Hi all,
    I live in Fort Collins, Colorado a town of about 130,000 people with roughly 5 firms in the town. I’m currently working for a multi-discipline company ( architecture,la,interior) that focuses there target industries within Health Care, Schools and some commercial. In response to our current Economic Crisis the trickle down effects is starting to take notice. Hence, school bonds not expecting to pass this Nov 2nd and the Health Care industry freezing current jobs.

I was just curious if due to my firms Regional work that we are feeling this or if it is an overall experience throughout our industry?? My assumption is that like many industries ours is beginning to feel the turn of the times. As a recent graduate I notice the purse strings of budgets tightening and layoffs becoming imminent. I just wanted to check and see if there were parts of the country that there might be more hopeful prospects.

Please don’t perceive this as a cry for help. More just a call for awareness.

Andrew Spiering
    Participant

Maggie,

Our firm is heavily dependent on commecial / retail / restaurant clients. We have been hit very hard. We are a national firm and fortunately as an LA I have a bit of a niche in this office. However, the work has dried up so badly over all the office is struggling a bit. No raises, bonuses etc. I am fine with that if they keep the doors open and I can keep my job. After the first of the year I will be working for a client doing complete drone work on projects that don’t come anywhere near resembling Landscape Architecture but I like to eat so I will do what it takes to get us through the tough times. Hopefully by the middle of next year something new will pop up. We really have to start getting creative to find ways to get the few clients that every one is chasing these days.

Maggie Hallidy
    Participant