FL Section Preparation for LArch Licensing

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE FL Section Preparation for LArch Licensing

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Edward M. Beidel
    Participant

I recently moved to Central Florida from MD and within the last week received authorization to be able to sit for the FL section of the licensing examination. As you can see from my profile, I have been practicing for over 30 years and currently licensed in 4 states and hold CLARB certification. I was a little surprised that I did not receive any other instructions, directions, references or recommendations for the FL section when I received the authorization notice. For those of you who have gone through a similar relocation to FL, what are sources of information in preparing for the FL section of the exam. For the application fee that is submitted, I would think that an applicant would receive more than one piece of paper from the State Board of Landscape Architects unless additional information is forthcoming. Advice and direction is very much appreciated. Ed Beidel

Mark Lerch
    Participant

I found the DEP website very helpful. You will also need to be very familiar with many of the statutes. Not just the ones that regulate licensure but also lighting on beaches, walkway width clearance at bus stops, importation of nursery plants from out of state, sand fencing, etc. If you go the DBPR website there is a very detailed list of topics you can expect to find on the test as well as a reference list to help you study. Good luck.

Edward M. Beidel
    Participant

Thanks Mark for the advice.

Robert Haught
    Participant

Ed,