Getting an MLA without professional experience

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums EDUCATION Getting an MLA without professional experience

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Andy Patton
    Participant

Im a fairly recent graduate with a BSLA, and I’m trying to decide if getting an MLA, (maybe a dual with a MUD) without having any professional experience is a deterrent to a potential firms employment.  I’ve been having a hard time trying to even intern at a firm, so as of now I have no professional design studio experience.  It would be a great help if anyone had some words of wisdom.

I have some work samples at apattonla.carbonmade.com if that helps.

Thomas J. Johnson
    Participant

I would think that having real world experience would help inform your masters. How do you know what you want to concentrate your masters in if you haven’t practiced? What can you bring to a masters program without having first explored the profession?

School and work are much different… to the point that I question how significantly a masters would change your experience in an office. If you’re doing cad, you’re doing cad. Who cares if you’ve got a BSLA or an MLA? I tend to believe that you can either design or you can’t. You can study design and gain a better understanding of what others have done but it won’t neccisarilly make you a better designer. There is a big difference between knowing about precedents and being able to apply that knowledge. And if it’s been done before by someone else, why would you want to do it again?