GIS in landscape architecture

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Roland Beinert
    Participant

There seems to be an emphasis on GIS in the landscape architecture departments at both universities I’ve gone to. There was a half semester course at the University of Wisconsin where I got my bachelors degree. Here at the University of Idaho, there are two full semester courses. But the firms that are hiring right now seem to care only about CAD and 3-d programs. I understand why firms want employees to be good at CAD and sketchup, but why is there so little interest in GIS?

Jonathan Nelsen
    Participant

Its coming….At the career fair at my school (Iowa State University) I talked with several firms who were looking to start GIS departments in the near future.  Its not easy to get started with, all that data is not free, and without data the software doesnt do much good.  I’m not sure about other places, but in Iowa you can access a lot of GIS data for free through the DNR.  When I was working on a project in Denver, all the data that I was finding cost money and was not cheap.

Roland Beinert
    Participant

That’s true. It can be expensive. Idaho has a website called Inside Idaho, where you can get free data. I think a few other states have similar websites.

Jason T. Radice
    Participant