Has anyone successfully transitioned out of the Landscape Architecture field?

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums GENERAL DISCUSSION Has anyone successfully transitioned out of the Landscape Architecture field?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Andrew, RLA
    Participant

This is a 2 pronged inquiry, so please bear with me:

I know this may sound negative, but I have been at a crossroads for a few months now, and I am not sure which path to take.  I am a Licensed/Registered Landscape Architect in USA and Canada and have a BSLA.  I have around 8-9 years of experience in professional offices in varying project types, generally master planned landscape architecture, and some hospitality based projects, in a project manager role.

I personally left my last position of 4 years to relocate to SF and spend some time with my family and support their career choices.  Well I have applied at 35 offices over the last 90 days.  All I have to show for this is 2 chance interviews, and subsequent “not a good fit” emails.  When I send out applications, I link my portfolio through bitly so I can see how many click throughs I get.  I have applied at jobs through personal connections, linkedin, land8, asla, and just seeking out work on company sites.  Of my 35 applications my portfolio has 8 click throughs, so it isn’t (just) that my portfolio stinks, it is no one is clicking the link.

In each application, I write a brief email, with a link to my portfolio and an attached Cover Letter and CV/Resume.  Each Cover Letter and CV is customized for the office I am applying.  It takes a bit of time to edit these, but I feel it is more personal with the hiring manager’s name, my interest in said firm/field, and the current date, so on so forth.