Internships for summer 2010

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Samuel
    Participant

So, I’m a second year student studying Landscape Architecture.
    I was wandering what internship are offered, and what sort of position I should expect.
    Thanks for the help!

nca
    Participant

Samuel,

I was accepted into the Design Workshop Summer internship program in 2007. I liken my experience that summer to a semester in grad school.

I recommend applying for ‘programs’ like DW’s or EDAW’s (not even sure if it exists anymore) as you’ll get a lot more out of it than experience sitting behind a desk making pretty drawings all day. If you go for a more traditional internship working in an office you’ll likely be expected to work at a production capacity making sections, doing cad red lines, an occasional sketchup/rhino model, etc and if your veratile and the office wants to help you get experience you’ll work between teams on different project types.

I got so far as being involved in the design process in a few pinches and developed a strong professional relationship woth one of the principals.

We were not required to do an internship while in school. I did it for my own experience and because I needed a job. According to my school this arrangement would not count for an ‘internship’ anyway because I got paid and didn’t pay tuition. I’m not sure if that’s true everywhere or just at CSU.

Wes Arola, RLA
    Participant

make sure you know AutoCAD,Sketchup and Adobe Suite because thats really all that matters in most cases

Chris Whitted
    Participant