Is it worth waiting for?

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    William J. Blount
    Participant

Ok, I know the title is a little weird so let me explain.  I graduated with my LA degree about 4 years ago, and despite my best efforts I still have yet to be hired into a company where I can use my degree.  I’ve been hired into a couple different engineering firms doing CAD work, but I don’t want to be a drafter long term.  So my real question is this profession worth the wait?  I’ve read a few places online where Licensed, practicing LA’s are telling recent grads to just abandon the field because, the pay is low, and trying to get into a firm is near impossible right now.  After four years, I’m starting to agree with them.  I loved this field in school, I very much enjoy designing spaces that people can use and enjoy, but since I went to school in my late 20’s and am now in my early 30’s I don’t really feel like I can keep waiting just to get into an entry level position, especially when I have a guaranteed position in a family company.  So to people that are actually practicing, would you in my position, keep waiting to get a job as an LA or cut your losses and move on?

Robert Anderson
    Participant

William,

That is a very tough question and one that, trying not to be too philosophical here, only you can answer. A quick scan through Indeed and I found over 300 openings for Landscape Architects. Now they are all in the lower 48 but just the same, if you are passionate about the profession perhaps one of these might be a fit for you.

I have been practicing for over 25 years and with the exception of a period of 18 months where I was un-employeed I have always been in either a full LA firm or as you have worked at a Civil Engineering firm taking the “engineering” and making it more aesthetic with my design background. The Civil Engineers grew to appreciate this over time.