Is Urban Sprawl good for Landscape Architects?

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums GENERAL DISCUSSION Is Urban Sprawl good for Landscape Architects?

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

Is Urban Sprawl good for Landscape Architects? Does more low density developed land create more work for LA’s?

Anonymous
    Inactive

It’s mostly suburban sprawl.  I would say, yes, it does create more work.  Every day I design subdivisions, master planned communities, and town centers.  It’s an unappreciated / step child of design that’s not really done by any one profession.  I have a non-design planning degree but it could be done by LAs, engineers, surveyors, architects, and others.  

Sprawl is not necessarily a bad thing, despite heavy criticisms from APA, ASLA, AIA, ULI, etc.  I always have the same defense: as long as I am not violating the “health, safety, and general welfare” (land use law term) I am free to improve the land that meets my clients needs.  In this case, it is market demand for single-family detached housing.  

The demands for this type of work will vary from one metro area to another.  I have largely worked in Chicagoland, Wichita, and now Houston.  The exurbs of Chicago are still a fraction the size of Houston when it comes to suburban development.  Despite recent (and hopefully temporary) drops in oil prices, Houston is still the energy capital with plenty of new jobs (and much higher demands for new housing construction).  Houston is extremely entrepreneurial with little regulation.  Chicagoland is highly regulatory.  At my current job, I can pick up a marker, turn it into a CAD drawing, plat it, and build it.  There are very few layers of agency review.