Landscape Architecture Students and Debt — Is this a realistic picture?

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums GENERAL DISCUSSION Landscape Architecture Students and Debt — Is this a realistic picture?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Lucy Wang
    Participant

Print

Image from LAM

Last month, Landscape Architecture Magazine published Value Subtracted, an article that takes a look at the average landscape architecture grad’s staggering debt load and how that stacks up to their pay and monthly expenses.

I graduated in December 2011 and was extremely lucky to have left school without debt (I went to my state school, qualified for financial aid, and applied for a lot of scholarships). I have friends and family members with school debt and I know that graduating with twenty to thirty thousand dollars in debt is not unheard of.

But the examples given in this article seem so extreme. Take the diagram above (and an even more extreme one in the article): rent is shown as taking up over 50% of the take home pay. Since they’re not living in NYC or San Francisco, it seems likely that the rent is for a multiple bedroom apartment that is split with other people–IOW they are not footing that $1k+ bill on their own. The example of Polly seems even more skewed when you see that she’s only allocated $272 for “food, healthcare, transportation, entertainment, etc..” Not to say it’s impossible, but it doesn’t make sense if she’s willing to be extremely frugal on one end but spend lavishly on rent. 

But while the diagrams have likely been edited for dramatic effect, the article does delve into the grim financial reality for many landscape architecture grads and much of America. The average cost of landscape architecture school debt is sometimes equal to or even exceeds the annual pay of an entry level landscape architecture position.