LARE prep time, etc

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    mros
    Participant

Hi everybody,

I am looking into taking one of the multiple choice sections of the LARE in March. I haven’t taken any yet so I am wondering what is a reasonable amount of time to prepare?

Also is one section at a time recommended, or is it doable to sign up for two within March? I was thinking of starting with A or B based on the passing rates. Any advice from your experience would be helpful!

MLCC
    Participant

Hi Mros,

Great question. I’ll give you my feedback based on my own experience.

I took all 3 multiple choice sections at once, two years ago, (and I was quite surprised to find that I passed all 3). In the interest of finances.. i.e.. not having to pay for CLARB fees and exam fees again, I over-studied so as to pass as many sections as I could.

I studied for about 5-6 weeks ahead of time, prob several nights a week, and weekends. If you are highly motivated to pass the first time around, I would say it’s not unreasonable to study even earlier.

I think taking 2 sections at a time is a good idea. Taking all 3 can be a bit much. It’s a lot of information to process. I’m actually surprised that Section D has the lowest passing rate of the 3 multiple choice sections, because in my opinion, it is the most straightforward; it is all about actual materials, construction detailing, etc… The other 2 sections seemed much more vague to me, and did not relate to anything that I do on a daily basis in my job.