Larix spp as ornamental trees.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Sherwood Botsford
    Participant

By way of introduction, I am a tree farmer in zone 3, in Alberta, Canada.  What with climate change, I’m always pushing the envelope a bit to bring different ornamentals into the area.

This week I had a chance to pick up a box (300) of western larch seedlings (L. occidentalis) 

I’m aware that these are marginal for my zone — they are not native here, but are native close to here.  Much of the time the reason for a plant not being non-native is that it doesn’t compete well with local vegetation while young. 

I already grow Tamarack (L. larcina) for the naturalization community.  I grow Siberian Larch (L. sibirica) and recommend it over Tamarack for any site that is less than soggy, or for people who want a more symmetrical, fuller tree.  

From my reading, Western Larch grows faster, has a larger size at maturity, but other than that, what reason would someone recommend one over the other?

Sherwood Botsford
    Participant

Hmm.  I hope that Mr. Python’s exposition is not typical of this group’s knowledge base. <grin>

Rob Halpern
    Participant

Western larch is more frost sensitive than its cousins. Early frosts will damage it while other larix species tend to start hardening off in mid-summer

Rob Halpern
    Participant

Much of the time the reason for a plant not being non-native is that it doesn’t compete well with local vegetation while young. 

No, that is not so. There are a number of limiting factors for plants: soils, drainage, exposure, competing species,differences in microclimate,  lack of suitable pollinators, lack of suitable seedling conditions, etc., etc., etc.

Sherwood Botsford
    Participant