License or no License

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Juan Antonio Lopez
    Participant

I’m a recent graduate exploring career opportunities and I was wondering what are the pros and cons of being a landscape architect vs. landscape designer.

Adam Trujillo
    Participant

This may or may not be relevant considering the firm you work for but according to ASLA’s latest survey “Being licensed significantly contributed to salary – $77,700 for those holding a license compared to $52,700 without.”

http://www.asla.org/land/LandArticle.aspx?id=30026

Also, I’m currently working towards getting my license just to have options later for when I may want have my own firm.  As far as the firm that I work for we are able to get a lot of projects that require stamped and signed plans that a landscape designer would not be able to do.  

My 2 cents… 

Jordan Lockman
    Participant

A license is not a silver bullet that will give you unmeasured wealth, but it gives you more opportunities. I just got licensed last year (7years out of school) so far it has not changed my life much. However I do now have the ability to sign drawings and it allows me do more on my own. So good to have, but I would not stress about getting it right away. It was always a 10 year out of school goal for me, so I got it done a little earlier than that.

If you want to go anywhere in a design firm you will need a license otherwise you are relegated to being a drafter. In design/build residential a license is not required. So there you don’t need a license, but it is still nice to call yourself a Landscape Architect to give yourself a distinction from the uneducated designers that flood that market.