Made the jump and gone on my own

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Stephen Lovering
    Participant

Hey guys

So last week I made the jump and have joined with a partner and started our own firm. I have little experience (3 years) but a background in sales and Business development. My partner has 15 yrs under her belt and is pretty well rounded in the Landscape Architecture profession.

Do any of you guys have any ideas with regards to the business development side of the profession. I would like to drum up as much business as possible by getting out there and making contacts etc. I live in Calgary, Canada and its a crazy town right now with enough work to go around so there really is no reason we cannot succeed.

If you have any suggestions with professions to go after, businesses to target, trade shows to hit it would be much appreciated.

Thanks again and as mentioned any info you can provide is much appreciated.

Cheers

Steve

Andrew Garulay, RLA
    Participant

Getting the work is the hard part. My strategy has been to make sure that those who are already getting the work (busy architects and builders doing the types of projects you want to be doing LA work for) have a reason to refer me instead of someone else. We all tend to think that better design gets that done, but I’m talking about letting some of them maintain the contract administration aspect or at least some of it. The benefit to them is partly that they get more project management $ AND they maintain control of the job site ( a very big deal in some residential construction).

It works for me. I get 80% of my work from direct or indirect referral from only three people. I don’t work for them. I work for their clients. The other 20% is from web traffic.

I’ll look to do more contract administration as my footprint grows. This is what I’m doing to grow my footprint.