MLA Program Decision

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    Amy Motzny
    Participant

Hello! 

I am currently trying to decide between two very different MLA programs (April 16 deadline!) and was wondering if anyone in the LA community might have some good advice. 

My choice is between the University of Michigan and the Harvard GSD. My background is in environmental science and geography and I have a strong interest in pursuing issues in landscape architecture related to the natural sciences and ecology. I am also currently living (and working) in Ann Arbor, MI. Originally, I felt as though the University of Michigan’s program, which is through the School of Natural Resources, would be a good fit. I applied to Harvard on a whim, I never expected to get in. I am a cartographer and have a strong interest in design as well. Harvard’s program would definitely fulfill this interest and further develop my skills as a designer in this profession. Further, Harvard’s program is very well established, world renowned, and would provide access to a million resources that are not available at the University of Michigan. My biggest concern is related to financing this degree. I will take on significantly more debt if I attend Harvard.

Could anyone out there comment on the job market for this profession? Specifically, I am interested in knowing whether or not the Harvard degree makes a significant difference when applying for jobs. I am also interested to hear from practicing LAs about where they see this profession going. Is a strong background in ecologic and environmental issues or a strong design portfolio going to position me better in the job market? 

Thanks!

Chupacabra
    Participant