MLA program with emphasis on higher education career?

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums EDUCATION MLA program with emphasis on higher education career?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Jarett Crump
    Participant

Hello all, my name’s Jarett and I wanted to get into the conversation on here.  Here’s a little bit of background:  I’m currently a Landscape Designer/Salesperson at a mid-level landscape company in northeast Tennessee.  I have worked there for about 8 months and am not happy with my job.  I am in the process of researching MLA degree programs and wanted your input.  I received my BS in Landscape Horticulture from Southern Illinois University in Carbondale.  I have professional experience and have a heavy emphasis on landscape design.  I want to find an MLA program that has an emphasis on the Theory/History of Landscape Architecture.  So far I’m looking into University of Illinois, Ball State, University of Michigan, Ohio State, Auburn, and Oklahoma.  I will be applying for the Fall 2013 semester and I intend on pursuing a career as a landscape architecture professor at a university/community college.  Any advice would he really helpful!

Thanks!

Jarett  

MLN84
    Participant
    Jarett Crump
    Participant

Thanks for the insight!  BUMP, any more input guys?

Tosh K
    Participant

I think Matt covered it well: GSD, Penn, UVA, and UC-Berkeley are the established older programs and maintain a level of academic standard that is a ground work or for pursuing personal research.  UT-Austin, UofMN, UGA, UW and LSU all also have very respected programs that integrate research into their curricula.  A number of new programs have been popping up and it may be worth looking into them and seeing who teaches – those active in CELA will inevitably have valuable contacts.