Pre-recession landscape architecture

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums GENERAL DISCUSSION Pre-recession landscape architecture

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

What was the profession like before 2008? I am new to the profession.

Robert Anderson
    Participant

I can tell you that just prior to the crash everyone was as busy as they wanted to be and pay was at all time highs. I’m not sure if that was part of your question but I believe there is more to it than that.

Being that I have been through several of these cycles a more important question to ask is what is behind the cycles and how to avoid getting caught out when a dip comes, which it will come again. To the former I can not say but on the later what has served me best; with the exception of the last downturn, which was historically bad, you should stay diversified and up to date on trends and even assist your employers or yourself in trying to position your firm to be able to absorb these valleys that will come.

Best of luck to you in your career.

Anonymous
    Inactive

Robert,

How does this recession compare to others? In terms of LA’s losing their jobs?

Mark Di Lucido
    Participant

Might help you understand ‘what the profession was like’ in terms of job security and pay if you had some numbers. I’ve been through three economic ‘events’: the first when I came out of school in 1991; the second in 2001; and the Big Kahuna in 2008. Averaged this works out to one event every eight years. Except for the Big Kahuna, I suspect the others were more regional so their impacts to LAs weren’t as widespread. Also keep in mind that those regions that put all their eggs in the single-family housing basket (Arizona, Nevada, Florida, etc.) still haven’t returned to pre-recession levels of employment and pay. Others will have different experiences; here are mine: