Printing a portfolio advice needed

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums PORTFOLIO & RESUME Printing a portfolio advice needed

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

Hi everyone.

I’m a recent MLA grad trying to tackle the seemingly daunting task of printing my portfolio and would love some advice from the LA world. Bottom line question is what kind of printer should I get?

Originally I looked into cost of having my portfolio printed by Kinkos and several of local printing companies.  I also have researched buying my own printer.  So far I found that cost wise it seemed to make more sense to buy my own printer and print myself. Most of the printing companies I contacted said they wouldn’t even print for me since I only want to make 3-5 copies.  Plus it would end up costing 200-300 dollars, not including binding or proofs.  Kinkos would be a bit cheaper, but I’ve had some bad experiences with them and would like to avoid dealing with them.

Now I am trying to figure out what printer will give me good quality prints at a good cost. I don’t want to spend more than $500.  I already bought and returned a Cannon Pixma 4920. The cannon was recommended for graphic designers. However, I found while black text looked true to color, photos and graphics with black in them looked purple. It really looked bad. So that was a bust. 

So now I’m trying to figure out if a laser printer is the way to go.  Does anyone have any recommendations?  I’m kind of at my whits end with reading online reviews.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.  Thank you.

Chris Whitted
    Participant