“Professional” Portfolio Advice

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums GENERAL DISCUSSION “Professional” Portfolio Advice

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    susan baumgartner
    Participant

Greetings All,

I’m in the process of updating my portfolio – I’ve been working for about 4-5 years and haven’t updated my portfolio since finishing school. I’ve been working for a relatively large firm and engaged in mostly large, long-term projects (mostly construction document production, but also some SD/DD level work) where I can’t take the “credit” for 85-99% of the design work. I was primarily involved in drawing/documenting the design and details in CAD, coordinating with other disciplines, and assembling the package.

Can anyone offer advice on how to best represent this type of work in my portfolio? And to be frank, not to over-represent it so it seems thats all I’m capable of doing (for while its interesting to an extent I really want to be more involved in the up front design in future employment)..

Thanks much for any and all advice!!

Cheers,

Susan

nca
    Participant

Just a quick thought, but is there any way you could pick up some quick garden design work or do you have some of your own ‘art’ which might illustrate some of your own design sensibility?

Otherwise, from my limited experience, I’d say just use your layout to ‘play down’ the illustrative and design aspects, while playing up your actual role. I would think that most firms would recognize what you contributed. For example, if I were a lead designer on a project assembling the work for my portfolio, I’d be sure to include some process imagery to promote my role as a design person.

Todd Clements
    Participant

Susan,