Professional Work in Portfolios

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Sara Donohoe
    Participant

Hey everyone,

I graduated a couple of years ago and I’d like to update my portfolio with some examples of professional work. Like many other entry-level persons, I’m not typically the one doing most of the final site design work. I do, however, design most of the landscape and I typically color/render some drawings for my own visual purposes (they are not used for presentation). I also have plenty of sketches and diagrams that I use for my own thought processes.

My biggest issue: All this work is technically the company’s property and I don’t want to get into any legal issues. How do I go about showing my ideas without actually putting the final work into my portfolio? I don’t want to sneak around, but asking for permission could be a touchy subject…

Thanks for the help!

Boilerplater
    Participant

The few licensure laws that I’ve read typically have language stating you have a right to copies of drawings, plans, etc. when you leave a company to use in your portfolio.  You have to give them credit when presenting the plan or photo, e.g. developed the illustrative plan fot this project while with xx-yy landscape architects.  So do they monitor things so closely there that you wouldn’t be able to run of a print now and then?  I admire your boldness to even THINK about leaving an entry-level job in this economy!

Tosh K
    Participant