Site Survey Equipment

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 61 total)
  • Author
    Andrew Garulay, RLA
    Participant

Does anyone have any good techniques or equipment for locating details on a site to supplement a low detail survey or update existing conditions? Sometimes it just is not worth it to bring in a survey crew or the turnaround time is more than you can stand. On the other hand, the amount of time it takes to draft the measurements into a drawing can be pretty bad as well. 

I’ve been doing it with laser distance meters for the last several years (they are getting better and cheaper,for those that don’t have one). I do pretty well with it, but it can get pretty time consuming. I was talking to a surveyor yesterday and he was telling me that reflectorless total stations have come down a great deal and no longer need excessive additional equipment. He thought that I should look into a used setup. The advantage of downloading points rather than plotting out circles or endless offsets from buildings could pay for itself in not a lot of time depending how much you do. 

Is anyone using a total station or other equipment or techniques to speed up site measurement and drafting?

Eric Gilbey
    Participant

I have heard great feedback from Trimble’s Total Station system. In the past, I recall taking measurements and elevations with long tapes and the typical rod and level…these total stations take the site info very quickly…the coordinate and elevational position at the same time. This data is easily imported into most CAD solutions. I just recently met a design/build company in Florence, KY that uses it on every project and not only can instantly map out locations and edges of features, they can use the elevational attributes to immediately form a 3D site model of the site too!

Chupacabra
    Participant