Sitting for LARE sections C & E in NYS- not enough work experience supervised by RLA…

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE Sitting for LARE sections C & E in NYS- not enough work experience supervised by RLA…

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

Hi,

I’d like to know if anyone out there from New York has ever been granted approval to take the LARE without the required minimum work under an LA…

Here is my story:  I graduated with an MLA in 1998, and worked part time (anywhere from 15 hours to 50 hours a week) for about a year and a half for a registered landscape architect. There wasn’t really enough work in that office for me to work full time, so I finally found a full-time job working in an engineering office, and I worked there for 9 years until I was laid of in February 2009. Most of the work I did there was typical of work I would have been doing in a landscape architecture firm: site plans, subdivision layout, planting plans, visual impacts analysis, stormwater biofiltration systems, habitat and wetland delineation and restoration, park and trail design, streetscape design, EIS’s etc. I took and passed sections A, B & D the first time I took the exam, and hoped I to take sections C & E.

According to NYS regulations, you need 2 years working under direct supervision of a Lansdscape architect to sit for sections C & E, but the Landscape Architecture Board may opt to waive this requirement, upon review of material. Here is the language found on their website: