Stunted growth of mid-level careers.

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE Stunted growth of mid-level careers.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Samuel J. Jimenez
    Participant

I graduated with a 5year Bachelors of Landscape Architecture in 2007. One year later, we heard the first few window panes of the crystal palaces the banking industry created for themselves came tumbling down. The sounds of shattered glass were only muffled by the bursting of the real estate and manufacturing bubbles. In one fell swoop, the world economy had shifted and people’s lives had changed forever. While some were able to hold on to jobs for a few more years, many people lost jobs, houses and even families.

I was able to keep my first job for a few years due to the fact that I was a part of a small atelier design firm that specialized in landscape architecture and civil engineering. We were 8 designers runner lean and mean, as were many at that time. I was the third person laid off after the work started to dry up. The guy laid off before me had just had an addition to his house constructed for his 2 month old new born. Its four years later and I have remained “underemployed” and have had to take jobs as a consultant for city and non-profits. I even took a job with a prominent non-profit teaching landscaping and landscape maintenance to work-release approved inmates within the prison system. The hourly rate was decent and it was an entry into a great non-profit. It wasn’t till I found myself teaching 12 prison inmates chain sawing in the woods, that I realized, maybe I should not have gone to school for landscape architecture?