“thank you for applying but…”

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums PORTFOLIO & RESUME “thank you for applying but…”

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    Pablo Cortez
    Participant

Hi everyone, Thought I’d take advantage of the forum and see about getting some feedback on my application package from you guys. This is the most recent version and looking for any feedback that would help in, at the very least, getting a call back from some of these firms.

UPDATE – Lots of good responses, thanks everyone this has been incredibly helpful!

Trace One
    Participant

I think your stuff looks really good! I do wonder if you should include a more clean-cut photo- i.e., wearing a tie, instead of the bike helmet. 

Whatever you do,  don’t do this:http://www.uproxx.com/webculture/2012/07/girl-accidentally-emails-prospective-employer-pic-of-nic-cage-is-awesome/

Roland Beinert
    Participant

I’m no expert, since I’ve redone my portfolio four or five times with no positive results, but:
    -Where’s the CAD work, Pablo? Great hand graphics and sketchup, though.
    -Were any of your projects built? If so, include pictures of the finished product.
    -Is all the work in your portfolio residential? You mention you did other types of projects in you cover letter, so these should be included in your portfolio.

Pablo Cortez
    Participant

I really want to do that now. ha, yeah, been working on a clean cut pic. I use the helmet pic to show some personality, something a bit different that may stand out. Thanks Trace One!

Pablo Cortez
    Participant

Thanks Roland, my thoughts are that employers know what CAD looks like? most, if not all, of my CAD work has been for firms and I’m not about to use their work on my portfolio, thoughts on this? I have one project that was built and one in construction, just waiting on pics to add.

Roland Beinert
    Participant