Too much text?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    Aiyou Zhu
    Participant

Hi, all, do you think I have too much text in my portfolio?

I just feel like there are so much to talk on every graphics, but it’s obvious I am not that good at writing, haha! anyway, if it is too much, can you guys give me some advice to reduce it?

http://issuu.com/aiyouzhu/docs/laportfolio

Of course, you are welcome to leave any comments about my portfolio.

Thank you very much!!

Aiyou Zhu
    Participant

Any ideas, guys? 

haha!

Wes Arola, RLA
    Participant

I think it looks great. You may benefit by summarizing your text into more of a summary of the project. One key item for each project I would include is the programs/process you used for each to show your experience and skills with handsketching,Photoshop,Modeling,CAD, Illustrator, InDesign etc..

People first want to see and look at the photos or plans, then if they want to know more they read SOME of the text and continue on to the next page.

Best of luck!

Aiyou Zhu
    Participant

Awesome, I think I will add a summary page to every projects, and then add SOME text, thanks!

Tonie C.
    Participant

I agree with Wes, reduce the text into summaries or bullet points.  I find the gray boxes a bit distracting too.  It seems like an unnecessary element that isn’t adding anything.

Be sure to proofread, and maybe ask a friend or instructor to edit too, I saw some grammatical errors.   

Almost there…. : )

Aiyou Zhu
    Participant

Haha, I will sure ask my friend to look at it, thank you!

Anonymous
    Inactive
    Tosh K
    Participant

I like that you start with one of your strongest projects, the last one should be your strongest (it looks like it will have more content?).  I agree with the previous posters – the grey is distracting.  Amount of text doesn’t bother me – but it should add relevant content not repeat the obvious (didn’t get a chance to go through it).