Travel Photography in Portfolio Q

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums PORTFOLIO & RESUME Travel Photography in Portfolio Q

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Luke Mancuso
    Participant

Hello all,

I am currently a senior landscape architect at SUNY ESF applying for jobs and I was wondering what people’s opinion on adding one’s travel photography in a portfolio? 

Robert Anderson
    Participant

Luke,

If you do add the photography make sure it is artistic and or tells a story or gives you a way to introduce some of your other interests. Employers like to know that you have this as a skill, was probably more important back with analog cameras, but it will more often than not provide for a topic of conversation.

Best of luck to you in your endeavors.

Rob Halpern
    Participant

What is it you wish to communicate to a prospective employer with these pictures?

Luke Mancuso
    Participant

thank you, i didn’t think of doing that

Luke Mancuso
    Participant

i was just hoping to communicate my eye for a good picture and willingness and desire to travel.

Rob Halpern
    Participant

When I review a resume I am looking for real content to help me get a sense of the candidate. If there is a lot of fluff it gets things off on the wrong foot.

You can certainly communicate your willingness to travel in easier ways.

But showing that you have an eye for design is more difficult to convey.

Consider carefully what photo to include and why. Don’t over do it.

And don’t neglect showing 1. that you have learned some useful stuff and

2. That you are eager to learn more useful stuff

Your competition is trying to make the case that they already know everything. Perhpas your edge is in showing that you know you do not