Types of Entry-Level Roles? Place for ppl w/o BLA or MLA?

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE Types of Entry-Level Roles? Place for ppl w/o BLA or MLA?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Karly
    Participant

I am a young adult (30,f) considering changing careers and going into LA. I’d appreciate any feedback about the profession and my situation.

I understand I will need to obtain a Master’s degree in the field to become a LA, but in the meantime, as I continue to consider committing to a grad program, I’d like some more exposure to the profession, to make sure it’s a good fit for me. Right now, I’m looking for LA assistant & support-type roles at various architecture, engineering, and design firms in my area, but am not having any luck. I have a bachelor’s degree and my work background is in social work and community development, so I do not have the technical computer skills (AutoCAD, Adobe Suite, Rhino, etc) required to do some aspects of the jobs, but I figured I could be trained in those programs and still be of use. I have worked in landscaping and flower farming for a few years, and am trying to move beyond that into a less physical role. An unpaid internship is not feasible, as I am an indpendent adult and need to support myself.

I’m wondering: am I wrong to think I can be of use without having a BLA or MLA? Is it not the norm that firms would provide on-the-job technical training in computer design programs? Is there a standard entry-level/supportive role I should be looking for that I don’t know about? I’m trying to guage how realistic it is to expect that I could fit into a firm at this point in the game. I’d really love to be mentored and use my established skillsets to work with teams, but passion only gets me so far.