What else can one do with a BLA or MLA?

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums EDUCATION What else can one do with a BLA or MLA?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

I notice a lot of people either trying to do something strictly in landscape architecture, but its

a broad major and included a wide-range of coursework. So what other jobs could one apply with
    a BLA or MLA? PR, Marketing?
    David Lorberbaum
    Participant

Ashish,
    I’m a UGA grad like yourself and have been very fortunate to still have my position with the firm I started working with right out of school. On the other hand, I have been keeping up with my classmates and they have not been so lucky. When I have talked with them a majority of them have gone back to school. One is going back to be a veterinarian. One for architecture. One for City planning. One for Law school. One is going back to seminary school.Some others are working for the Atlanta Botanical Gardens. Some are dabbling in graphic design. One is an insurance agent.

So I think people are just doing whatever they can right now.

I think you could probably do graphic design, possibly advertising(if you can find a firm that will take a chance on a BLA grad), if you are a good people person then you could do sales in just about anything.

My Dad always told me through high school and college that as long as you can solve problems and work with people then you can do just about anything unless your degree is super specialized. I tend to think that our degrees are somewhat specialized, but we can work well with people and solve problems so it shouldn’t be a limitation.

Hope that helps.

Jay Smith
    Participant

Ashish,