What’s best Hardware/Computer for a landscape architect?

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums TECHNOLOGY What’s best Hardware/Computer for a landscape architect?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 28 total)
  • Author
    Cemal Onur ALPAY
    Participant

Hello everybody,

I have some questions about the quality of computers which are perfect for landscape draws. I am interested in buying apple macbook or PC(desktop). I am planing to buy high quality PC because its hardware can be modified. However, apple is preffered by landscapers due to easy use during drawing. Would you please can you let me know which one is good for my purpose? what do you recommend?

Jonathan Nelsen
    Participant

I am a student studying landscape architecture and to me, it seems like the people in my classes who have pc’s are most happy with their functionality and ability to run the majority of design related applications with few problems. Those with macs often ran into problems when trying to install autoCAD, or ArcGIS. I personally always wanted a mac because of the way they look and their music editing software, but the LA departement actually recommended PC’s for the LA department, as well as architecture department. In the end, I think you can get macs to run any software you would need, but it comes down to your personal preference, and the ease of installation and use of software.

Jon

Sousuke
    Participant

I wouldn’t buy a Mac for what you want. There are a few programs that you would be forced to run on a virtual machine which is less than ideal.

I’ve always built my PCs and found you can build it for half the price of a comparable mac. Some components I hunt down on craigslist etc. like my monitor, video card etc. but core components I always purchase new with their factory warranties.

I also run a 64bit OS which allows for more RAM (32bit maxes out at 3GB) and I haven’t run across any compatibility issues yet with any landscape related software.