Why don’t professors teach more AutoCAD in schools?

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums TECHNOLOGY Why don’t professors teach more AutoCAD in schools?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 42 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

As a working designer I often have to teach new hires AutoCAD, sometimes from scratch.  Plenty of portfolios I see on here are heavy on digital graphics: Photoshop, Sketchup, Illustrator, and various plugins.  They are beautiful, although many of the techniques (fades, gradients, masking) are starting to look somewhat repetitive after 5-7 years.  It’s very important to produce quality graphics, but I often find students CAD skills very lacking.  They don’t understand command prompts, lisps, programming a four button mouse, or how to adjust plot styles.  They are also lacking in spatial relationships: lot design, utility easements, reverse curves, compound curves, filleting, transitions in pavement, etc.  I would LOVE to see a designer who understands how to do a slope analysis using topography.  Therefore, the burden falls on me to teach students/ entry-level designers how to use CAD.  I, too, learned AutoCAD on the job from a landscape designer.  From a business standpoint, it just seems counter-productive to invest tons of time training designers skills they should really be mastering in school. Sketchup is a post-production tool.  It should NOT be used as a substitute for design. I also see very simple site plans of 10-20 acres that are heavily rendered in another program.  I don’t see enough complex scenarios in site design: trying to maintain the same lot count or leasable area on a site with stricter parking requirements, overlapping easements by others, etc.  

Andrew Garulay, RLA
    Participant