3D Plant Design programs

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Jonathan Allard
    Participant

Just wondering if anyone knows of a program that allows you to create a planting design and go from 2d to 3d easily.  I’m looking for a program with a large variety of realistic looking plants.  Any ideas?

Noah Mabry
    Participant

Hi Jonathan! It really depends on what you’re trying to do exactly and how much you want to spend. For esentially free you can use SketchUp and import some plants. Or for lots of money you can use landFX plug in for AutoCad. Those are probably the two most user friendly options I can think of. It also depends, though, on what your base knowledge for these types of programs is.

Jonathan Allard
    Participant

Noah thanks for your reply. I’ve been working with AutoCAD, Sketchup and Photoshop for close to five years now, and am pretty proficient at all. Lately our office has gotten into the 3d photorealistic graphics, but are having a hard time finding a program that meets our needs. We would like a program with a large library of photo realistic plants that can be easily edited. A program that allows easy transition from plan view to perspective would be great. If it’s a program that would run concurrent with AutoCAD, Sketchup that would work as well.

Noah Mabry
    Participant

Well I guess that is sort of a different question. I am not a fan at all of 3D rendered trees/plants in photorealistic montages. They look way out of place and distract form the overall usefulness of the image to convey intent. They always look like big plastic trees set in the landscape.

I think there are a few resources online that you could use for trees and plants in these type applications that wouldn’t be too difficult too edit to fit into your image. I have a strategy of putting a popcicle tree (line with a circle on top) in my cad plan as a placeholder for approximate size and perspective.