Advice for a beginner in US

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Lens T
    Participant

Hello everyone!

First of all I have to say it was super great to discover this web site, which seems to help in so many ways in LA , and also it’s really impressing to see all those who reply and try to help with their experience to those who seek help/ information . Hope my post will attract some of those (-:

So, after this long foreword I’ll begin with explaining my situation.

I’m a young architect based in Israel, graduated almost 3 years ago with a B.Arch degree (after a 5 years of study) from the IIT (Israeli Institute of Technology also known as Technion). Since the graduation I’ve worked half a year in Urban Design field as a junior architect, 1 year in a Small Architecture Firm (Commercial, Interior design) and have been working almost for a year (till present) in a Landscape architecture firm as a junior designer. I really enjoy doing landscape design and I want to continue and stay in this field.

I’m about to move to US in the following year, and I’ve started to do some background checking on the demand for young landscape architects. Regardless the bad situation on the market ,and considering my background (explained above) I would like to know what chances do I have to get a job as a junior landscape architect? Should I continue my education (MLA ?) ?Will it increase my chances to find a desirable job?

Since US is a very big country I assume there’re areas with more/ less demand for the LA depending on the living style/ climate/ etc.. If that is so, which areas/cities are the better places to go? Is that true that West Coast = parks/ gardens/ private practice, East Coast = urban design/ big firms ?

Thanks you very much in advance for your replies!!

Douglas M. Rooney
    Participant

Lens T,