Advice in getting a teaching position

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums EDUCATION Advice in getting a teaching position

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

Hello,

I am a recent MLA graduate interested in education (through teaching in LA programs/universities) along with working.  Does anyone have any advice on how to get connected to universities if you are moving to a new city?  
    Cheers,
    TJ Marston
    2009 MLA University of Pennsylvania
    John.Dallinga
    Participant

The best way I can think of is to contact the human resources or landscape architecture department directly. They may have adjunct positions open. Most full-time, associate professor positions these days require at minimum professional licensure and an MLA or BLA and masters in a related field (engineering, horticulture, environmental science). Individual colleges or universities may have other specific requirements as well.

Anonymous
    Inactive

John –

Thank you for that helpful information. I have noticed many universities do not post jobs, so it is good to confirm that the best way to find out is to call!!

Another question I have (for you or anyone else who has advice on this topic) is regarding technical schools / community colleges:

Are there many landscape architects out there teaching related courses (ie. drafting, drawing classes…etc.) at technical schools/community colleges? If so, what kind of coursework do you teach (ie. drafting, drawing classes…etc)? Do you find it fulfilling teaching students skills who are not on a BLA or MLA tract?

Thanks again for your help!

Andrew Garulay, RLA
    Participant