Are there any RISD students/alums out there?

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums EDUCATION Are there any RISD students/alums out there?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    Sarah Knee
    Participant

I have been accepted to the RISD MLA program starting this July. I am so very excited but for some reason I feel some hesitation that I can’t quite pinpoint. I thought it might be helpful for me if I could hear some pros and cons about the program. Does anyone out there have some advice? Strong opinions? Angst? Euphoria? Regrets?

Andrew Spiering
    Participant

Hey Sarah,
    Check out the Advanced Member Search here – http://www.land8lounge.com/profiles/members/advancedSearch

Also, here are the search results I got for RISD.

Hope this helps!
    Andrew

jennifer Bloch
    Participant

Hi Sarah – I graduated in 01 – so the program and so all people are not the same as they are now. It was a big uphill climb – with little sleep. RISD is an amazing environment – there is so much to take advantage of while you are there- afterwards you will have the benefit of having attended a profound institution to which many great people are connected.

you will get out of it what you put in. i can’t say i can or can’t recommend it as I don’t know what expectations or desires you have for your future.

it was good for me – the mix of architecture and fine art and landscape was what i wanted.

rhode island is cold – and the people of providence are cold too…

RISD and Brown are entwined to a degree and you can take classes up the hill if you want…

say hi to Lili Herman for me if you decide to go.

let me know if you have any questions – Best – Jennifer

Matt Landis
    Participant

Do you have specific questions? RISD is a great program…but it is definitely a different approach than a school like Cornell or the GSD. Not for better or worse…it just depends on what you are hoping to get out of the program.

Andrew Spiering
    Participant