AutoCAD LT – Sizing Text Question

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums TECHNOLOGY AutoCAD LT – Sizing Text Question

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    ERIC HAGBERG
    Participant

How do I size text in AutoCAD LT 2011? I’m new to AutoCAD. I’ve probably spent less than 40 hours on AutoCAD LT 2011 so far, and have learned a lot from YouTube videos and from my experience using other CAD programs,  but I cant figure this text sizing stuff out. 

When I place a leader line text, the Text formating window pops up. The text size is usually already set to 3/16″ already, which is way to small to read. When I go to change it to any other size, the text gets huge, like 50′ huge. I can’t figure it out. 

Also- I cant figure out how to size dimension text. 

Multiline text sizing I figured out (I think) but its the dimension text and Leader line text sizing that has me stumped. Any help would be appreciated. (Feel free to dumb down your explanations, like I said, I’m still new to AutoCAD and might not understand all the lingo)

Thanks

Andrew Garulay, RLA
    Participant

I’m not sure how you have your desk top set up. I have it showing the pull down menus rather than the big icons, but here is how to do it.

Use the “format” menu to find “text size”. Open that to select or make the text size that you want to be current in the drawing.

Then access the “dimension style” also under the format menu. Either select one that you are familiar with or set up a new one. You will have to choose the font, arrow size, and the scale (scale is in the “fit” tab when you modify the dimension style).