Bourj Hammoud Port (Waterfront)

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    ramzi al malti
    Participant

Hi
    I’m a final year student in the American University of Beirut and majoring in Landscape Design and Eco-System Management. My final year project is located in an important city in Lebanon called Bourj Hammoud. Basically the area of study starts of as a residential/commercial area (which is highly dense whether structure wise or population wise) and then is bisected by the highway and then the waterfront begins. This waterfronts is a heavy industrial area ranging from steel industry, to fuel storage tanks, to composting units…. All the wastes are dumped into the sea.

In addition to that, a lot of  pollution is occurring from water pollution to air pollution and to noise pollution. In this waterfront exists a fishermen harbor and is isolated from the society. My design concept is to integrate this harbor in the neighborhood  by making it a community space for the locals and further focusing on the  various fishermen activities (such as net weaving and boat making) without compromising them.

It would be really helpful if anyone can provide me with ideas on how to develop further in this case. Such as helping in ideas regarding the site analysis, site understanding, and further more design ideas.

ramzi al malti
    Participant

and i would like if anyone can help me with case studies as well regarding waterfront multifunctional landscaping (with respect to sea waterfronts not river or lakes)

Joy Younan
    Participant

fish market

Trace One
    Participant

Baltimore Harbor Waterfront Revitalization is a famous case study of successful design. Camden New Jersey, on the other hand, is unsuccessful..there are dozens of examples, though, just google “Waterfront Revitalization Projects” and start to read!

Les Ballard
    Participant