Breaking into a new Market

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Jonathan Smith, RLA
    Participant

Is there anyone who can give me advice on expanding my business to new (geographical) areas.  I graduated in 2008 (there were no jobs) and started my own design service, which soon expanded to design build (easier to support a design habit with a build job).  My business has grown every year and I’ve had the opportunity to work with non profits and academic clients as well as architects and home owners.  The area I live in has a combined pop. of less than 40,000, which may limit my ability to continue to expand, so I want to market myself in larger areas before the pond dries up in my immediate vicinity.

How do I do this?

I almost have my LA license (one test left, taken, now waiting), which I hope will help me expand my business opportunities, but even then, how do I tap other markets?

Any suggestions?

Andrew Garulay, RLA
    Participant

I know your market because I used to work in it. You are very isolated in that your geographical region does not support much more than residential or very light commercial until you get to Spokane/Cd’A which is a hundred mile haul for design/build and a market that is very well served from within those communities. Additional expense of travel will be very hard to recoup the farther you get from Moscow/Pullman. Landscape is valued less the more rural you go. Your best bet for market expansion in design/build without moving is Lewiston/Clarkston. High end residential is virtually non-existent in the region, so you have to build because you (or I) could not make a living on design only in that market.